top of page
Search

Saving Over $1000 by Changing Cell Phone Providers

February 2024 is turning out to be the month of big financial changes for me. I am changing cell phone providers, health insurance companies, and consolidating financial institutions. I've been dragging my feet on these changes that I have wanted to make for the past several years, and now that I'm sitting still in Cairns, Australia, I have the mental capacity to get this stuff done. No more Miss Lazy Cris. It's go-time for Miss Productive Cris.


Bye, Bye AT&T...Hello, Tello!

I have used AT&T as my cell phone provider since summer of 2009. At at time, I bought my first iPhone through them and was able to ask for a custom phone number. The last 4-digits of my number is the same as my mom's land line that she still has today. Her phone number is well over 40 years old! Before I left the U.S in June 2019 to travel the world, I downgraded my cell plan with AT&T so I could keep my same phone number, and keep life simple since that bill was already tied to autopay with a credit card. My plan should have been about $50/month which I was find paying as it was lower than what I had been paying previously. I got tips from nomad and expat friends who told me to turn off the Data Roaming setting to that line, and then I would not incur the $10/day International Day Pass fee when I was in other countries. That worked sometimes, but not all the time. Randomly my phone would trigger that fee depending on what country I would be in. I could have removed the International Day Pass option from my account, but I wanted it as a backup just in case I had issues with local data. After looking back in my AT&T account for the past several years, I've been paying between $1100 to $1800 A YEAR for my cell phone plan. That is insane and wasteful when there's so many other options out there.


In 2019 before I launched, I had several friends tell me about GoogleVoice and GoogleFi which were free or low cost options I could consider, but I didn't understand what they were at the time. I also knew people being cut off from GoogleFi for being out of the US for long periods of time. And I had heard there were issues with compatibility with iPhones. I was already deathly afraid of losing my U.S. phone number because it's tied to so many online accounts, and at times the 2 Factor Authentication text needed to be sent to my number so I could finish logging in to whatever account I wanted to access. For my lack of understanding, laziness to do research, and fears of losing my number, I did nothing over these past 5 years, and just pissed that money away, every...single...year. Well, not any more!!


I learned about Tello from an acquaintance, Danish, who is the Admin of the largest nomad group on Facebook. When I reached out to him to see how Tello has worked out for him last year, he said it was great and there were no issues or concerns. That's when I sat down and dug deep into their website, reading their plans, and seeing if that U.S. cell phone company would be a good fit for me, someone who does not live in the U.S. anymore. Come to find out, it's a fantastic fit all around!


Some of my favorite aspects about Tello Mobile:

  • I can have a U.S. cell phone plan only, and not have to pay for U.S. data which I would not be using.

    • However, if I come back to the U.S., I can change my plan and add-on data which will be effective immediately. This easy, flexible system is really appealing.

  • The lowest cell phone plan they offer is $5/month, which is only $60 a year (before taxes). That alone is a ginormous savings over what I had been paying AT&T for the last 5 years.

  • The cell phone plan includes WiFi calling.

    • This is essential since I am not in the U.S. and therefore will not be connected to the U.S. cellular networks when I am abroad. I buy local data from Airalo, an eSIM distributor. Newer iPhone's have dual SIM capabilities, which means I can have my Tello line turned on at the same time I have a second line devoted to international data.

    • WiFi calling works with my eSIM data, not just a WiFi accessed from a router.

  • International calling to over 60 countries is included in every cell phone plan.

    • I no longer have to use WhatsApp to make international calls, which was limited to cell phone numbers and the other person had to have the App too.

  • The referral program gives $10 to the new user, AND $10 to me.

    • Since I chose a plan that is $6/month or $7.06/month after taxes, each referral covers more than a months worth of my plan. I have already had 3 people use my Tello referral link in the first week since switching my service over to them. That $30 of credit will cover 4 months of cell service for me. Thank you dearly to whomever used my link. It's much appreciated!


I was unnecessarily scared about porting the number over to Tello. My fears were solely out of ignorance and not understanding how the process worked. I am not an expert in the technical stuff that happens behind scene but I can give anyone else peace of mind, it is no big deal. Don't freakout like I did.


First, I signed up with Tello and purchases a cell phone plan. Tello assigns you a phone number based on the home/billing address you give them. You also receive directions on how to install their eSIM, which is needed to activate this line on your phone. You need to be connected to WiFi this whole time and it took maybe around 5 minutes; probably less.


Then, within my online account, I navigated to the page that is dedicated to porting phone numbers. They have a form to be filled out which was clear and easy to understand. I had to provide information about my phone, and the AT&T account info, so the number can be ported over. On AT&T's end, I did have to request a PIN from my account, which essentially told AT&T this line would be leaving their company.


Once the porting form was complete and submitted, there was a large yellow banner that said, porting in process. It also showed an estimated length of time for the porting process to occur, which for me was 24 hours. Since I'm in Australia for all of this, I had to give some grace for time zone difference. After 27 hours, my prized phone number that I've had with AT&T since 2009, is now proudly over in my account with Tello.


During the porting process, I was never without an active line. Actually, both phone numbers worked at that time. My AT&T number was working and my originally assigned number from Tello was working fine too. That was nice peace of mind.


Don't be Irrational Like Me

Looking back, I'm embarrassed on how irrational I was with the fear I had about moving this phone number over to another provider. So many people do this on a daily basis, but I had some ancient concept stuck in my head that you can only get a cell phone number if you walk into a physical store. Geez, is that beyond false for how tech works today. So don't be a fool like me. If you want a U.S. cell phone and data plan that is super affordable, give Tello a look. Heck, you can sign up and try it out for just 1 month, and if you don't like it, you are not out any money if you used my referral link.


Referral Links:

  • Airalo: an eSIM distributor that provides data plans world wide. By using my link, you get $3 off your first plan, and I earn $3 in credit too.

  • Tello Mobile: an U.S cell phone and data company with the most affordable, and more importantly, flexible plans. With my link, you get $10 Tello credit, and I do too.

  • Genki World Travel and International Health Insurance: This is the new health insurance company I have changed to. I am also saving $1000 a year by switching from Cigna Global to Genki. If you use my referral link, I get 5% commission for each month of your active plan.


If you enjoy the content and want to show support, feel free to Buy Me A Coffee. Thanks!

514 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page