top of page
Search

It's Nomad Travel Time

We all know the world pandemic halted international travel for a very long time. As it tries to ramp back up, I'm finally ready to jump back into my original plan: living across several countries each year. Thankfully, I received both Astra Zeneca vaccinations in Belize and have been fully vaccinated since June 2021. I have been making a new list of countries I want to visit and checking their government websites regularly to learn about Covid restrictions and entry requirements. With my current rental lease expiring at the end of September, I pulled the trigger on flights and accommodations for the next several months.


Where am I going?


Panama City, Panama

October 2021

I decided to play a game called, Nonstop Flight Options. From Belize, I can fly directly to Guatemala or Panama, and I chose Panama. Back in December 2019, I cruised through the Panama Canal with my mom and sister for the Christmas holiday. We did not have a stop in Panama but I loved the experience and remember thinking the city looked really cool. Now I get to find out first hand!


Most of my time I will be staying in an area called Marbella which is known for shopping and restaurants. Yay! It's also close to doctors offices which is important for my stay because I really want to get my teeth cleaned and have a good wellness checkup. I'm really excited to enjoy the condo I found in Marbella and hope it has great views of the city and the water. At the end of the month I'll be relocating to Casco Viejo, which is the "old town" of Panama City. I'll be staying at a Selina property and get to celebrate Halloween on their rooftop bar area. Should be fun!


Aruba

November & December 2021

The next nonstop flight option from Panama will take me to Aruba! Last year I spent Thanksgiving and Christmas cruising with Tradewinds around the Cayes in Belize. This year, I'm going to enjoy the winter holidays in Eagle Beach and Palm Beach, Aruba. It's totally my splurge for the year but I'm very grateful to have friends and family visiting me for the holidays. We are going to snorkel, relax on the beach, and do a little blokarting! (Image from the Airbnb site.)


Transatlantic Cruise from Brazil to Spain

March to April 2022

Why fly to Europe when you can get there on a boat? The NCL Star will be taking me across the Atlantic with stops in Brazil, Cape Verde, Canary Islands, Madeira, & Spain. I'm especially excited to visit the Canary Islands and spend more time in Barcelona. It's been several years since I was last there.


Don't worry, I buy travel insurance for everything now because you never know what is going to happen.


What about January & February 2022?

For now, I have a few idea but no definitive plans. After Aruba I may check out Bonaire, or I might head back to Panama to check out more of the country. Or maybe I'll look into visiting Peru to see Machu Picchu. Regardless, I'll stay in the general area so I can fly down to Brazil in early March and enjoy Rio de Janeiro before jumping on the ship, and relocating to Europe. It finally feels great to plan my future travels again, and research all the amazing places I'll be living in the upcoming months.



273 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page