top of page
Search

97 Items in 3 Bags


Packing is always a hot topic in the nomad communities. For those of us that don't have a home base and travel full time with all of our worldly possessions, it's tough to pair down sometimes. There's sentimental items, things you use daily or those that are used seasonally, extra supplies for the "just in case" moments, and the comfort items that are nice to have.


I've downsized a lot over the past several years as I started out with an oversized suitcase. Today I'm down to 1 small checked suitcase, 1 carry-on roller, and 1 daypack.


Let's get down to the nitty-griddy. What's in my bags?


Shoes (5 pairs)

I wear the black Birkenstocks and lavender Teva sandals most often. On travel days, I wear my sneakers since they are large. This way they don't take up room in my luggage. My flip flops are for the beach or wear with a dress or two, and my one pair of Rothy flats are my dress shoes. I've found Rothy's flats don't work well in Europe when walking on the stone sidewalks or roads. The ground is slick against the smooth rubber soles of the Rothy's, and I've slipped a few times.


Dresses (6 items)

From knee length to mid-calf length, I enjoy each dress, especially since they are made from dry fit material. Five dresses are from the Columbia Sportswear store and one is from REI. Four of the dresses have one or two pockets which is always a bonus! The last dress on the right, is the longest and what I would consider the most formal out of my collection. It is very comfortable but wrinkles, which has been a disappointment since I don't always have access to an iron.


Shorts, Capri Pants, & Shirts (12 items)

In the hot and humid climates, I wear 2 of the 3 shorts most, and the capri pants come in handy in slightly cooler temps. The light gray pair on top also serve as my snorkel shorts. If I'm going to be on a boat all day, and snorkeling several times, I'll wear the shorts over my swimsuit, so I don't burn my toosh. I learned the hard way just once.


The top two shirts are cotton and the other 6 are made from dry fit material. I don't wear the cotton shirts as much as they show sweat the fastest. Plus, after I wash them they take the longest to dry.


Pants & Workout Clothes (9 items)

  • 3 pairs of pants

  • 1 pair of black leggings

  • 1 pair of capri gym pants

  • 1 pair of gym shorts

  • 1 tank top

  • 2 gym t-shirts

Definitely some of the least worn clothes in my stash, but they do get their use throughout the year.


Sweater & Jackets (3 items)

  • 1 light sweater

  • 1 light golf jacket

  • 1 rain jacket with hood

Again, I don't wear these often as I'm usually in hot tropical climates, but they do come in handy throughout the year.





The Unmentionables (22 items)

  • 2 pairs of pajamas

  • 5 bras

  • 9 pairs of underwear

  • 2 pairs of trouser socks

  • 4 pairs of ankle socks

I should probably ditch most of my socks since I rarely ever use them. I am going to see how my month in Portugal goes in cooler weather. If I only circulate between a couple pairs on a regular basis, I'll feel better about leaving them behind then.


Beach & Snorkel Gear (13 items)

  • 2 swimsuits

  • 2 coverups

  • 2 microfiber towels

  • 1 long sleeve rash guard shirt

  • 1 short sleeve rash guard shirt

  • 1 pair of water socks

  • 1 snorkel

  • 1 snorkel mask

  • 1 pair of snorkel fins

  • 1 daypack that folds into a small pouch



Toiletries, Medicine, & Tech (14 items)

  • 1 bag of annual medication

  • 1 bag of jewelry

  • 1 bag of toiletries

  • 1 bag of kitchen essentials

  • 1 bag of brand name Q-Tips

  • 1 bag of makeup

  • 1 bag of soap and solid stick deodorant

  • 1 bag of single use eyedrops

  • 1 bag of other medicine

  • 1 bag of powdered laundry detergent

  • 1 laptop with charger

  • 1 bag of changeable plugs for laptop brick

  • 1 portable charger

  • 1 European USB charger with my phone and Fitbit charger cables

Several of these items are consumable. It's my hope that as I use them up, I won't replenish them the same way in the future. Rather, buy certain items locally and not keep a stock with me. My two non-negotiables in this category though are brand name Q-Tips and solid stick deodorant. I will always have a small stash of those items at all times; they make a huge difference in my personal hygiene happiness.


Other Travel Items (11 items)

  • 1 visor

  • 1 hat

  • 1 laundry bag

  • 1 mesh laundry bag for delicates

  • 1 10L drybag

  • 1 8L drybag

  • 1 Swell water bottle

  • 1 Yeti-style cup with reusable rubber straw

  • 1 insulated lunch bag

  • 1 bottle KU koozie

  • 1 beer bottle opener


Mr. Snuggles & My Grandparents (2 items)

My all-time favorite sentimental and functional item is Mr. Snuggles. He was a birthday gift from my best friend at the age of 10. He is a great pillow and is the first thing I unpack whenever I settle into a new home. The picture of my grandparents, sister and I, is the next item that makes any place feel right at home.



Future Goals

Ultimately, I would love to downsize a lot more to have only a carry-on roller and daypack. The reason for that is to make travel days much easier. Recently, I flew two different airlines from Greece to Turkey, and pieced together my itinerary myself. Because I had to collect my checked red suitcase, exit security, and then check my bag on the next airline, that process ate up a lot of my time. I would have missed my connecting flight because of the first flight being delayed and the amount of wait time in lines for the checkin process. If I was down to carry-on only, I could have bypassed all of that mess and just headed to my next gate, without going out of security. Listing everything I own and looking at each category, I can see items to leave behind as donations.

This exercise was a lot of fun though. I sorted through my belongings while in Greece at the end of July 2022. It was also neat to look back at my February 2020 post called, I carry too much stuff, and compare from two years ago the amount of belongs I owned then, and what I own now. I wonder how long it will take me to reach my goal; or if I get there at all.



744 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page